Success really does happen…sold my first copy!

After having my recently published book on the Kindle Marketplace for two days, I recently discovered that I have sold my first copy. Of course, I hope to sell more than just one copy!— but the incident of this one sale to get the ball rolling has really set me in good spirits.

For me, it’s not about money. I don’t write for a living, and I have more than enough money to live on. Sure, the royalty is nice— but for me, it’s more about reaching an audience with my writing. I want people to read my work, think on it critically, share it with their friends, and send feedback back to me: what did they learn from the book? Did they identify with the characters? And I welcome criticism as well: what can I work on? What just really sucked about it?

After all, most of us don’t just write for ourselves— we write to be read, to be shared, and to be enjoyed. And these elements involve a reader!

So I offer this as encouragement to anyone who has a work out there that they’d like to publish: if you believe in it, other people will give it a chance. You just have to put it out there and see what can happen. It’s you who has to take the first step from being a closeted writer into a published author.

I’m still in the amateur stage, and proud of it…but I hope to reach greater heights soon! And the best of wishes to you as well.

-G.D.

 

13 Comments

Filed under Books, publishing, Writing

13 responses to “Success really does happen…sold my first copy!

  1. Congrats on selling your first copy! it is a wonderful feeling, isn’t it? I remember when I had my first book published, I was like a giddy child enjoying a lolli pop. I didn’t fully believe in my ability as a writer due to the fact that I am my own worst critic as most artists are but it was amazing to know that people actually enjoyed my work:)

  2. Ina

    Hi G D 🙂 it must be so wonderful to be able to write not for the money, I can imagine the joy it gives. Enjoy every moment of your writing!

  3. Congratulations! It starts with one. To your continued success!

  4. congrats! i find publishing super scary! of course i plan to publish some of my works someday- but when i will be confident enough that its a piece of work even I would read! 🙂 am making drafts at the moment though. i should have something by the end of this year *fingers crossed*

    • Best of luck! Writing is slow but rewarding. When others begin reading your work you know that it was worthwhile. Best wishes in both writing and publishing!
      -G.D.

  5. This post in all its essence has inspired me, and helped to keep me motivated just before I was feeling such a way. Thank You ! I look forward to reading more of your work, much sucess

  6. Congratulations! I’ll continue to watch for updates on your progress as it will soon escalate and I can share in your joy via your posts. Blessings.

  7. amerikahthebeautiful

    Thank you for those words. I was starting to doubt whether or not I should publish my first book and now it’s clear that I must publish it.

  8. Congrats on your first book! I don’t think I have the guts to make my works public, I am too scared of people laughing at me. 🙂

  9. Hey, thanks for stopping by my page and leaving a comment.

    Congrats on your first sell! Awesome!

  10. Next step . . . . getting readers to write reviews of your book. Give me a week or two, okay. bb

Leave a Reply

