Breaking into the Business

Two days ago I finally worked up the nerve to publish on the Kindle format. I’d been working on this novel for about 3 years (started it in 2009!) and I submitted it to many agents. One gave it a bite and wrote me back, saying “I’d love to read the rest of the manuscript.” I was excited and prepared the entire manuscript to send off, but a few weeks later I got a notification from that agent saying that she’d left the agenting business.

That crushed my ambitions: I had wanted to see my name in print ever since I was a kid. But I didn’t give up, and I was convinced to cut corners around the “traditional” method and instead go for electronic self-publishing. I am excited to have my work out in the market now! I’m working hard to build an audience.

The book is called Of a Greener World, and click here to reach its page on the Kindle Marketplace. It’s available for $3.25, or free for Amazon Prime users. If you’re interested, please take the time to go through the free first few chapters!

I’d love to hear your publishing war stories. Or maybe they’re success stories? Tips, encouragement, criticism…it’s all welcome here!

-G.D.

5 Comments

Filed under Books, Writing

5 responses to “Breaking into the Business

  1. This is a great post. I cannot tell you how many people’s work have sat on agent’s desks only to collect dust. You were “lucky” that you found out the agent left the business, and you took control of your own destiny. I cannot tell you how happy I am for you. A great gal to follow is Joanna Penn, if you do not already know about her. Penn has amazing tips on publishing and marketing. My best to you — keep in touch.
    Sincerely,
    Barbara Bonardi, Bee Published
    Email: bmbonardi@gmail.com
    http://www.barbarabonardi.com
    http://www.beepublished.wordpress.com

  2. Your posts are so refreshing and encouraging! We’ll be rooting for you, and perhaps your success and courage will rub off on us, too 🙂

  3. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

